what's with the dog?
more about marshall
places to eat
monthly calendar
online advertising
 
more marshall links
Salt Fork YMCA

MO Map

Explore Marshall and Saline County's Rich History

The sixty-five acres of land for the city of Marshall was donated by Jeremiah O'Dell deeded April 13, 1839. It was named for the United States Supreme Court Chief Justice, John Marshall, when chosen as the county seat.

After the first two courthouses in Marshall were lost to fires, the Saline County Courthouse was constructed in January 1882. It was placed on the National Register of Historical Places by the U.S. Department of the Interior in 1977. The building is an enduring landmark in the center of Marshall Square and a legacy of nineteenth century architecture.

Saline County was named for its many salt deposits where westward travelers along the Santa Fe Trail stocked up before their long journeys southwest. To commemorate these travelers, Marshall holds “Santa Fe Trail Days” the second weekend in September each year on the Marshall Square. The two-day festival includes food, music, crafts sales and other activities for Saline County residents and visitors. Check the "Visitors" section of the web site for more information.

Jim Hunting

Jim the Wonder Dog

One of Marshall’s most cherished citizens was the remarkable Jim the Wonder Dog. Jim was a Llewellyn English Setter from a line of champion field dogs.

Jim was a champion hunting dog, but much more. He carried out instructions given to him in any foreign language, shorthand, or Morse Code. Newspaper and magazine writers came to witness Jim and were stunned. His fame spread across the United States and he was even featured on Ripley's Believe it or Not.

A statue of Jim was placed in “Jim the Wonder Dog Garden” off the northwest corner of Marshall Square, along with many of the stories and eyewitness accounts about Jim’s talents. You can learn more about Jim the Wonder Dog and other Saline County History by visiting the Saline County Historical Museum, 101 N. Lafayette, on the Marshall Square.

Courthouse
After the first two courthouses in Marshall were lost to fires, the Saline County Courthouse was constructed in January 1882. It was placed on the National Register of Historical Places by the U.S. Department of the Interior in 1977. The building is an enduring landmark in the center of Marshall Square and a legacy of nineteenth century architecture.

Pilot
Marshall was home to the largest pilot school in the nation in the 1920s, when aviation was young. The Nicholas Beazley Aviation Museum features airplanes from the era and fascinating exhibits and murals.

pilot bust


bugFound a bug? Or have suggestions for this site? Please email us.

calendar of events / tourism planning reports / privacy / email us

©2009 Marshall, Missouri. All rights reserved. All text, graphics and content of this website are protected by the US and International copyright laws and may not be reproduced or distributed in any manner without written permission from the Marshall Chamber of Commerce.


Web Development: Poole Advertising LLC